Petition Closed

Declaration Against Hate, Violence, and Injustice

This petition had 206 supporters


You are invited to sign the petition and join your voice with ours! Anyone can sign in support if you agree, whatever your gender, faith, or geographic location. We would particularly love to see your support if you live in East Central Illinois, but all are welcome to sign, or start a similar movement in your town or city. Copying our language for your declaration is enthusiastically permitted - just let us know!

We are a diverse ecumenical and interfaith group of women in faith leadership in East Central Illinois. We gather together for unity, purpose, interrelatedness, and moral consciousness. We collectively agree that any form of violence, hatred, racism,intolerance, and social injustice must be named and resisted. We must act courageously. 

We commit to challenging the resurgence of groups in our communities and nation who are promoting dangerous, white supremacist, far-right ideologies. We speak out against words and actions that seek to demean, threaten, or devalue others in any way.

As civil rights and non-violence champion Rosa Parks said, “I would like to be known as a person who is concerned about freedom and equality and justice and prosperity for all people.”

We commit to inspire ourselves and our communities to act from a spirit of love, justice, and radical hospitality. In this, we echo the commitments made by faith leaders in Charlottesville, VA: “We will stand firm in our pursuit of justice and the honoring of all peoples, and we will move forward together as one community, united in our common humanity as beloved of God” (Charlottesville Clergy Collective, 2017).

Together, let us take up the challenge with vigor, dignity, and compassion.

Sisters in Faith Leadership

January 30, 2018

Pastor Renée Antrosio
Rev. Connie Bandy
Pastor Dawn Blackman
Dr. Laura Brenneman
Rev. Florence Caplow
Rev. Jacqueline Davis-Minor
Pastoral Minister Vera Duncanson
Amy Felty
Judi Geistlinger
Rev. Kristin Godlin
Rev. Dr. Janet Elaine Guthrie
Rev. Dr. Patricia A. Havis
Rev. Christine Hopkins
Min. Gladys D. Hunt
Rev. Dr. Laura Aull Johnston
Rev. Melissa Keeble
Sharon Mathew
Rev. Beth Maynard
Rev. Jean Oliver-Holder
Rev. Deborah Owen
Rev. Dr. Sheryl Palmer
Rev. Leah Robberts-Mosser
Rev. Ann Schwartz
Rev. Cindy Shepherd
Rev. Linda Siddall
Rev. Deborah Slack
Rev. Miriam Snider
Pastor Debra Sutter
Rev. Amy Thoren
Exec. Dir. Laurie Vial
Rev. Heidi Weatherford

Today: Sisters in Faith Leadership is counting on you

Sisters in Faith Leadership needs your help with “Sisters in Faith Leadership: Declaration Against Hate, Violence, and Injustice”. Join Sisters in Faith Leadership and 205 supporters today.