Help Support More Bicycle Recreation and Tourism In Scottsdale

Help Support More Bicycle Recreation and Tourism In Scottsdale

0 have signed. Let’s get to 100!
At 100 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!
Mary Turner started this petition to Scottsdale Mayor and City Council

Scottsdale is a major travel destination but has done little to promote bicycle tourism. Tourism is a major driver of Scottsdale’s economy. Scottsdale is currently missing out both for residents and tourists by not showcasing more bicycle tourism.

A new project called “Gentry on the Green” can help change that. Named after one of the Indian Bend Wash’s founders, the “Greenbelt” as it is also known, has several unique features which makes it one of the best biking destination in Arizona, if people only knew about it. And made it easier to use. Gentry on the Green will embrace and celebrate its public connection and adjacency to the Greenbelt at Camelback Road. Because of its proximity to Old Town, Gentry on the Green can and should be a convenient place to rent bicycles to head throughout Scottsdale on the Greenbelt, and act as a bicyclist trailhead similar to hiking trailheads in the McDowell Mountain Sonoran Preserve. Gentry on the Green will create significant community open space where currently none exists while accentuating a sense of place by creating a focus on bicycle tourism creating a new locations for bicycle tourist and local bicyclists.

We encourage Scottsdale’s Mayor and City Council to support this redevelopment of old apartments into better ones that focus on two wheels  and help make Scottsdale a premiere travel destination for bicycle tourism.

If you agree, please email the City of Scottsdale and let them know that you support Gentry on the Green and promoting bicycle tourism in Scottsdale. 

Mayor Jim Lane: jlane@scottsdaleaz.gov  
Councilman Guy Phillips: gphillips@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Suzanne Klapp: sklapp@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Virginia Korte: vkorte@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Kathy Littlefield: klittlefield@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Linda Milhaven: lmilhaven@scottsdaleaz.gov
Councilwoman Solange Whitehead: swhitehead@scottsdaleaz.gov
City Manager Jim Thompson: JThompson@Scottsdaleaz.gov

Thank you so much for your support.

 

0 have signed. Let’s get to 100!
At 100 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!