Petition Closed

All classrooms at SPUSD need air conditioning

This petition had 1,062 supporters


Santa Paula Unified School District need air conditioning. Last week SPUSD's classrooms reached extreme temperatures. I have heard firsthand from teachers that rooms were over 90 degrees even before students were released for "heat days." Students complained how hot classrooms are, and how difficult it was to concentrate in class. This setting is not conducive to learning; it is unsafe and completely unacceptable. The district is allowing themselves to be susceptible to a lawsuit with classrooms at dangerous and extreme temperatures.

What is the district going to do to solve this problem? The "heat days," while necessary, are not a long term solution. SPUSD has already exceeded it's 4 negotiated heat days for the year, in the first 13 days of school. It is unacceptable for students to be missing out on instructional minutes, because schools lack an optimal learning environment for students.

SPUSD needs air conditioning immediately! Please sign this petition so we can share with the board the number of parents, guardians, and taxpayers that are also concerned with this issue.  Our children need to be in a safe environment where they can learn.

CONTACT INFO:

Email Addresses:

Governing Board:
Derekluna@santapaulaunified.org
Pthompson@santapaulaunified.org
Curias@santapaulaunified.org
Mkolbeck@santapaulaunified.org
Kstewart@santapaulaunified.org

Superintendent:
Agamino@santapaulaunified.org

SP Times:
sptimesnewspaper@gmail.com

You can send to the district. 

Santa Paula Unified School District
201 S. Steckel
Santa Paula, CA 93060
Or call:
805-933-8802

 



Today: Heather is counting on you

Heather Silva needs your help with “Santa paula unified school district governing board: All classrooms at SPUSD need air conditioning”. Join Heather and 1,061 supporters today.