Petition Closed

Unconditional release of Abdul Nasser Maudany

This petition had 1,458 supporters

When the Muslim spiritual leader Abdul Nasser Maudany was first arrested in 1998 and he spent nine and a half years in jail without trial. After nine and a half years, the judge told him that `you are innocent’! Those who loved democracy in India were shocked by this process. Maudany came out from Coimbatore jail and all the politicians in Kerala tried to gather his support. Neither the judge nor the supporters raised the issue that he deserved a proper compensation for rotting in jail for around a decade. Here is a situation where even the judge is admitting that the cases on Abdul Nasser Maudany were `fabricated’.


Instead of compensating Maudany for his unnecessary time in jail, he was again arrested with fabricated false charges. Journalist K.K. Shahina, who exposed this fabrication is also facing fabricated charges. Maudany today is in Bangalore jail without proper health care. His eye-sight is affected badly due to diabetes. 

Maudany stood for the unity of marginalized Muslims, dalits, adivasis and other marginalized sections. Perhaps this was the real reason which threatened many politicians.


Abdul Nasser Maudany is a symbol of thousands of fabricated false cases in India. The campaign for the release of Maudany is a campaign for retaining democracy in India. We request all democratic and secular people to involve in this campaign to release Maudany, whereby we raise our strong voice against one of the most significant violations of human rights in this country.

Today: Jisha is counting on you

Jisha Josh needs your help with “Prime Minister of India, Home Minister of India: Unconditional release of Abdul Nasser Maudany”. Join Jisha and 1,457 supporters today.