Petition Closed

Please bring the July 4th Fireworks Show back to downtown Athens!

This petition had 55 supporters


The 2016 downtown Athens fireworks spectacular was a phenomenal display of community. Thousands of attendees from diverse backgrounds celebrated our country's founding in the best attended family-friendly event that downtown has seen in years. It was an event of regional significance that was a boon to Athens business. Most importantly, it helped establish that downtown Athens welcomes families and children.

Unfortunately, this year's fireworks show has been CANCELLED for unknown reasons. We respectfully urge the Mayor and Commission to put the fireworks show back in the budget. And keep it there! We're tired of debating fireworks every year! Robust property tax receipts from the abundance of luxury student apartments provides capacity in the budget to fund this request. Not to mention the spike in local sales tax receipts that comes from such a popular event.

THE SHOW MUST GO ON!!!

Please SHARE and respectfully CONTACT the Athens Mayor and Commission! Together, we can ensure that downtown Athens hosts this impressively popular event for years to come.

  • Mayor Nancy Denson: nancy.denson@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Sharyn Dickerson: sharyn.dickerson@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Mike Hamby: mike.hamby@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Kelly Girtz: kelly.girtz@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Melissa Link: melissa.link@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Diane Bell: diane.bell@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Jared Bailey: jared.bailey@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Andy Herod: andy.herod@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Jerry NeSmith: jerry.nesmith@athensclarkecounty.com
  • Harry Sims: harry.sims@athensclarkecounty.com


Today: Russell is counting on you

Russell Edwards needs your help with “Please bring the July 4th Fireworks Show back to downtown Athens!”. Join Russell and 54 supporters today.