Grant Avis Lee a Public Hearing.

Reasons for signing

See why other supporters are signing, why this petition is important to them, and share your reason for signing (this will mean a lot to the starter of the petition).

Thanks for adding your voice.

Erica Bates
7 years ago
The data on recidivism suggests that she will lead an upstanding life because of her age and work she's done while incarcerated. The research and data suggests its financially cheaper to release a person in this situation. She has served over 31 years and is remorseful. It just seems to make sense to allow a chance.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Helen Stickney
7 years ago
Our prison system should be about rehabilitation, not lifetime incarceration. Please let this be a symbol of change in how we help heal society.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Myles Dinnen
7 years ago
This person has been in prison since 2 months after I was born. I have had such a long life and done so many things in my 34 years that it is hard for me to imagine spending all that time locked out, thrown away by society for a mistake made a lifetime ago. Please look into your hearts, those who have the decision of clemency to make, and think of Avis Lee as your sister, mother, daughter, aunt, cousin, wife, friend, because she is all of those things to all people, just as we are all related and can all be knowable to each other. Thank you.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Adrienne Roberts
7 years ago
End LWOP everywhere!

Thanks for adding your voice.

Annie Morgan
7 years ago
Free Avis Lee!

Thanks for adding your voice.

Jordan Stern
7 years ago
More than 30 years in prison is long enough. Avis deserves freedom!

Thanks for adding your voice.

Alexandra Oliver
7 years ago
Whatever the original crime, the 18-year-old who went in is not the 52-year-old now imprisoned. Grant Avis Lee a public hearing!

Thanks for adding your voice.

Karen Bernard
7 years ago
It's only fair to grant Avis a public hearing. And what's unfair for Avis is unfair for me.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Tyson Auchter
7 years ago
Serving 32 years in prison without parole for being in the wrong place is a disgusting thought. Please give this woman a chance to make her case for commutation and release.

Thanks for adding your voice.

Andrea DeChellis
7 years ago
I have heard from friends of Avis about her story. She could be a friend of mine, a family member, someone I met. She was 18 years old when Mr. Walker was killed and she takes responsibility for what happened. She has people who love her and so many of us would benefit from her being home.