Reject a relocation fee ordinance that includes houses, condos, du-, tri-, and fourplexes

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!


Do you own a HOME, CONDO, OR RENTAL PROPERTY in Oakland? Do you have hopes of renting your home because of life change or circumstances? Do you seek to return to your home in the future? Councilmember Kaplan along with support from Councilmember Kalb and Brooks are currently looking to pass a uniform relocation ordinance that will cover single family homes,condos, and all other properties that range in fees of $6,000-$12,000. There are no requirements for a renter receiving this money- no minimum length of stay or no means testing to identify need. Property owners are at risk of renting out their property should this pass! And this is guaranteed to be just a starting point of negotiation. How does this policy burden help the housing shortage we have in the Bay Area? More owners will take their homes off the market to avoid any problems and costs associated with renting. This short-sighted policy will make the market even tighter. This ordinance is just one of many policies this council has passed in the last 2 years making availability W O R S E and causing rents to rise.

This item will be discussed on Monday, December 18th, Oakland City Hall, close to 7pm or later. Read more here: https://oakland.legistar.com/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=3187866&GUID=C8D6E61C-5A5A-4D03-AE69-F081858188BB&Options=ID|Text|&Search=kaplan

ATTN ALL SIGNORS OF PETITION!
Council scheduled Councilmember Kaplan's version of the uniform relocation ordinance for MONDAY, December 18th. This is a special evening meeting. This item will also be a FIRST reading due to lack of meeting public notice requirements(being published in a newspaper). It is also a non-consent item which means it will be heard after 7pm.
BIG UPDATE: This version, if passed, will be retroactive to November 28th, 2017.

Your opportunity to have your voice heard has not changed: call, email, sign on to this petition and attend the meeting. The agenda and amendments are now up on legistar.

Sign up to speak 12/18 at City Hall on ITEM 16# here: https://solar.oaklandnet.com/Speaker/form

Contact ALL council members:

Dan Kalb 238-7001                                   dkalb@oaklandnet.com

Abel Guillen 238-7002                               aguillen@oaklandnet.com

Lynette Gibson McElhaney 238-7003      lmcelhaney@oaklandnet.com

Annie Campbell Washington 238-7004    acwashington@oaklandnet.com

Noel Gallo 238-7005                                 ngallo@oaklandnet.com

Desley Brooks 238-7006                          dbrooks@oaklandnet.com

Larry Reid 238-7007                                 lreid@oaklandnet.com

Rebecca Kaplan 238-7008                       rkaplan@oaklandnet.com

 Say NO to this crazy policy that has major unintended consequences for all residents of Oakland!

 

 



Today: J is counting on you

J B needs your help with “OAKLAND PROPERTY OWNERS: Reject a relocation fee ordinance that includes houses, condos, du-, tri-, and fourplexes. Show up 12/18- check back for exact details once agenda is posted.”. Join J and 488 supporters today.