Changing NYS Law for Sexual Abuse Victims
0 have signed. Let’s get to 5,000!
I am looking to change New York State laws on Sexual Abuse and it’s limitations. New York State gives victims a time frame on when they can report their abuse. New York State gives victims 5 years after their 18th birthday before their statute of limitations expire. I would like to change the time constraints and limitations.
This hits me personally, when I was 16 years old I reported my abuse. However, the law enforcement officers did not take my report seriously and my statement, did not make it to paper. I am now being told my limitations have expired. I was also told that the laws changed the year I made my “report” back in 2006. Ten years later, my story was proven after this person was arrested for for victimizing two other underage girls and evidence was found. Had the police officers taken the original report seriously this would have prevented other victims from existing. I wouldn’t be here making my attempt to change the laws.
I would like to make it so, victims and survivors have no limitations on reporting. As crimes such as these can be very difficult and traumatizing to report. Any crime report as such should be handled seriously and delicately.
Today: Shelby is counting on you
Shelby Rumpf needs your help with “New York Governor: Changing NYS Law for Sexual Abuse”. Join Shelby and 3,059 supporters today.