CREATE A NEW PARK IN ELSTERNWICK, SUPPORTING NEW SELWYN STREET CULTURAL PRECINCT

Recent news

LATEST NEWS ON CONVERTING MAY ST WEST INTO A OPEN SPACE

To keep you updated on the latest developments:

  • The latest Woolworths development has been REJECTED for a second time by the Glen Eira Council.
  • Council legal advice concurs with the Stop the Elsternwick Towers legal advice that May Street Road West has never been discontinued and therefore belongs to Council on behalf of ratepayers.
  • Councillors are now in the midst of reviewing their next steps with regards to May Street West.

What can you do?

1) We encourage you to write and call your local Glen Eira Councillor to encourage them to support this plan to convert May Street West to open space. Without their support, it cannot happen.

You can contact them at :

Sam Parasol - 0466 372 822
Cr. Sam Parasol - sparasol@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Simone Zmood - 0466 469 776
Cr. Simone Zmood - SZmood@gleneira.vic.gov.au

David Zyngier – 0427 319 018
Cr. David Zyngier- DZyngier@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Margaret Esakoff - 0407 831 893
Cr. Margaret Esakoff - MEsakoff@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Tony Athanasopolous - 0466 372 816
Cr. Tony Athanasopoulos - TAthanasopoulos@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Neil Pilling – 0418 310 631
Cr. Neil Pilling - npilling@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Jim Magee - 0427 338 327
Cr. Jim Magee - jmagee@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Anne-Marie Cade - 0466 372 809
Cr. Anne-Marie Cade - acade@gleneira.vic.gov.au

Li Zhang - 0499 357 262
Cr. Li Zhang -lzhang@gleneira.vic.gov.au


The City of Glen Eira, and in particular Elsternwick, has the least amount of open space per person in Melbourne. This road represents a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to create new open spaces for the community who are crying out for more public parks. In addition, it complements the newly approved Selwyn Street Cultural & Pedestrian Precinct, which is planned to be the heart and soul of our neighbourhood.

The Glen Eira Open Space Strategy has identified a distinct lack of parkland in this area. Given that Council already own the land, a unique opportunity exists to create public open space at a minimal cost.

2) Share this petition far and wide. The more support we have, the better.

3) Follow us on Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/stoptheelsternwicktowers or on twitter at https://twitter.com/Stop_The_Towers

4) Visit our website at www.stoptheelsternwicktowers.com for the latest updates

Thank you for your support, here's to more open space in Elsternwick.

 

Sam Dugdale
4 weeks ago