Petition Closed

School Holiday ... Yay it's Some Jayanti !!!

This petition had 13 supporters


Why are schools closed on the name of Jayanti ? Every second day in India, schools are closed on the name of Jayanti or some or the other holiday. What do kids have to do with so many holidays especially Jayanti and fasting ones, that they need to stay at home? If offices are not closed then why school? Have you ever analysed how many days a child goes to school ? Parents pay 365 days of bus fees, school fees, tution fees, activity class fees, meals so on and so forth and in return they get Summer holidays of two months, Winter holiday of one month, 100 days off due to Saturday and Sunday other than holi, Diwali, dussherra, eid, and then you have the below holiday list. It's simply insane. If we want our children to excel they should understand that work is worship and education is the base. Please let's change few things in our education system. Right from school timings, school holidays, and school syllabus. Let's give our children a healthy education system. Office begins at 9:30 even 10 but kids go to school at 7. Why ? Why study things in which child is least interested. Mugging history dates. Why ? Why can't be festivals celebrated in school and why not dedicate the Jayanti day to the particular person by teaching kids in school about him and his contribution to the society. Look at the below holiday list of 2017 and decide how beneficial and need for hour is this petition.  

Jan 1 Sunday Last day of Hanukkah Observance
Jan 1 Sunday New Year's Day Restricted Holiday
Jan 5 Thursday Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Jan 14 Saturday Pongal Restricted Holiday
Jan 14 Saturday Makar Sankranti Restricted Holiday
Jan 26 Thursday Republic Day Gazetted Holiday
Jan 28 Saturday Chinese New Year Observance
Feb 1 Wednesday Vasant Panchami Restricted Holiday
Feb 10 Friday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 14 Tuesday Valentine's Day Observance
Feb 19 Sunday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 21 Tuesday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Feb 24 Friday Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri Gazetted Holiday
Mar 12 Sunday Holika Dahana Restricted Holiday
Mar 13 Monday Dolyatra Restricted Holiday
Mar 20 Monday March equinox Season
Mar 28 Tuesday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted Holiday
Apr 4 Tuesday Rama Navami Gazetted Holiday
Apr 9 Sunday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Apr 11 Tuesday First day of Passover Observance
Apr 11 Tuesday Hazarat Ali's Birthday Restricted Holiday
Apr 13 Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
Apr 13 Thursday Vaisakhi Restricted Holiday
Apr 14 Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
Apr 14 Friday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
Apr 15 Saturday Mesadi/Vaisakhadi Restricted Holiday
Apr 16 Sunday Easter Day Restricted Holiday
May 1 Monday May Day Observance
May 10 Wednesday Buddha Purnima/Vesak Gazetted Holiday
May 14 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
Jun 18 Sunday Father's Day Observance
Jun 21 Wednesday June Solstice Season
Jun 23 Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted Holiday
Jun 25 Sunday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
Jun 26 Monday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar Muslim, Common Local holidays
Aug 6 Sunday Friendship Day Observance
Aug 7 Monday Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Restricted Holiday
Aug 15 Tuesday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
Aug 15 Tuesday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
Aug 15 Tuesday Thanksgiving Day Observance
Aug 25 Friday Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
Sep 2 Saturday Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha Gazetted Holiday
Sep 4 Monday Onam Restricted Holiday
Sep 22 Friday September equinox Season
Sep 27 Wednesday Maha Saptami Restricted Holiday
Sep 29 Friday Maha Navami Restricted Holiday
Sep 30 Saturday Dussehra (Maha Navami) Gazetted Holiday
Oct 1 Sunday Muharram/Ashura Gazetted Holiday
Oct 2 Monday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Oct 5 Thursday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
Oct 8 Sunday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth) Restricted Holiday
Oct 18 Wednesday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
Oct 19 Thursday Diwali/Deepavali Gazetted Holiday
Oct 20 Friday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
Oct 21 Saturday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
Oct 26 Thursday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) Restricted Holiday
Oct 31 Tuesday Halloween Observance
Nov 4 Saturday Guru Nanak Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
Nov 24 Friday Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day Restricted Holiday
Dec 2 Saturday Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad Gazetted Holiday
Dec 13 Wednesday First Day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 20 Wednesday Last day of Hanukkah Observance
Dec 21 Thursday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Sunday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
Dec 25 Monday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
Dec 31 Sunday New Year's Eve Observance, Christian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Today: FolkTales is counting on you

FolkTales needs your help with “Narendra Modi: School Holiday ... Yay it's Some Jayanti !!!”. Join FolkTales and 12 supporters today.