Petition Closed
Petitioning Executive Director Don Hinton and 28 others

Eliminate the soccer rule regarding the number of high school players.


The Mississippi High School Activities Association has recently voted to revise their rule regarding the number of players on a high school team that may participate on an independent team. The new language of the rule has not been posted. The current rule states that no more than 5 players from a high school team may participate on the same independent team. The rule does not differentiate between DI, DII or DIII teams. All are considered independent teams.

Why is this information important to us? The answer can be found in the current rule, “The penalty for this violation is the loss of high school eligibility of all participants from the school that participated on the team.”

If you would like to review the current rule please click on the following link, the rule can be found on page 17 section P.

We are encouraging all parents to get involved in this and to encourage MHSAA to eliminate soccer from this rule or to modify it so that it does not have such a negative impact on YOUR children playing.

This petition was delivered to:
  • Executive Director
    Don Hinton
  • MHSAA Associate Director
    Lonnie Tillman
  • MHSAA Associate Director
    Rickey Neaves
  • MHSAA Assistant Director for Athletics
    Diane Bruser
  • MHSAA Assistant Director for Athletics
    Robert Holloway
  • MHSAA Director of Development and Communications
    Todd Kelly
  • District I Secretary
    Larry Williams
  • District III Secretary
    James Nicholson
  • District V Secretary
    Tommy Parker
  • District VII Secretary
    Mike Goff
  • District II Secretary
    Truman Albritton
  • District IV Secretary
    Gale Gregory
  • District VI Secretary
    Jerry Huskey
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Kalvin Robinson
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Anthony Jenkins
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Paul Henry
  • President MHSAA Executive Committee
    Ronnie Hill
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Tracy Cook
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Mike Davis
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Jeff Gilder
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Junior Graham
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Charles Hardy
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Dr. Marietta James
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Ray Morgigno
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Dr. Beverly Culley
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Larry Dolan
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    George Graves
  • MHSAA Executive Committee
    Bubba Hathorn
  • District VIII
    Carl Shepherd

Pearl Soccer started this petition with a single signature, and now has 2,032 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.

Today: Pearl is counting on you

Pearl Soccer needs your help with “Mississippi High School Activities Association: Eliminate the soccer rule regarding the number of high school players.”. Join Pearl and 2,031 supporters today.