Amalgamation of the Education System in Saskatchewan

This petition made change with 224 supporters!

The School Community Councils (SCC) from the Good Spirit School Division would like to inform you of the imminent changes coming to your school, and your community. The Saskatchewan government is looking to make changes to the structure of our School Boards and School Divisions. The Educational Governance Review Report   ( has proposed four options. Here is the breakdown of these options:

Option 1: This would consolidate the current 18 existing Divisions into a single Provincial School Division. It would make this single Board responsible for managing 606 Public Schools, which translates into 173,548 students and 16,900 staff. Division Board Members would no longer be elected, but appointed.

Option 2: This is a more regional model where there would be 4 Divisions created province wide. The Division Board Members are also appointed, not elected.

Option 3: Here there are two directions to choose from. Option 3a would also restructure the Divisions in order to reduce the amount from the current 18 to between 8 and 14 Divisions. All student demographics, all geographic elements, and all transportation routes will be taken into consideration. This option implies elected Division Boards. Option 3b would realign the boundaries in support of community interests. It is implied that the government would consult with the Divisions to ascertain what the community interests and/or needs are. It is also implied that Division Boards would be elected.

The SCC’s of the Good Spirit School Division support the Option 3b, as described in the Educational Governance Review ( It is the least disruptive to the province, and to our schools and communities. We are firm believers of the democratic process and want our Division Board Members to be elected and accountable to the community. We are concerned that with Options 1, 2, and even 3a, we will lose our individuality. In addition, we are concerned about the effects these other Options will have on our schools and communities if we lose our local representation.

The intent behind this letter is to ensure that you, the parents and community members, are aware of the imminent changes that will affect your child’s education and school experience. If these changes concern you as much as they concern us, let your voice join ours so we can be heard together! Please sign and comment on our petition, voice your concerns!

To reach our petition go to and search for:

Amalgamation of the Education System in Saskatchewan

It’ll be about the 7th one down the list! (Or click the link!)

If you want to do more, speak to your local MLA or contact the Minister of Education:

Hon. Don Morgan Q.C.

Office: 1-306-787-0613



The School Community Councils of the Good Spirit School Division as listed below:

Calder, Churchbridge Public, Columbia, Davison, Dr. Brass, Grayson, Invermay, Kamsack Comprehensive Institute, Langenburg Central, Macdonald, Norquay, Preeceville, Saltcoats, Springside, Sturgis Composite, Sturgis Elementary, Victoria, Yorkdale Central, YRHS

Today: School Community Council is counting on you

School Community Council needs your help with “Ministry of Education: Stop the Amalgamation of the Education System in Saskatchewan”. Join School Community Council and 223 supporters today.