Halt Midcoast Council's annual aerial spraying program and stop using glyphosate

0 have signed. Let’s get to 2,500!


We ask that Midcoast Council halt the current annual aerial spraying program targeting bitou bush, which sprays Glyphosate 360 and/or Metsulfuron methyl over large areas of coastal bushland by helicopter. Locations “targeted” by helicopter are Crowdy Head Beach, Crowdy Head Reserve, Harrington Beach, Manning Point Beach, Farquhar Park, Mudbishops, Old Bar Beach, Saltwater, Diamond Beach. We also urge the council to join other Australian municipalities in undertaking a complete review of the aerial spraying program, as has been initiated in the municipalities of Wollongong and Shellharbour (reported June, 2019).

Furthermore we ask that Midcoast Council stop using Glyphosate in public spaces, such as around playgrounds, near schools, roadways and riverbanks. We believe the council has a duty of care to ensure their use of weed suppression strategies fit community expectations in relation to public health and environmental concerns.

Midcoast Council only accepts paper petitions, so please get in touch if you would like to help get signatures. 

In 2015 glyphosate was classified as “probably carcinogenic to humans” by the World Health Organisation’s International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) because of its strong association with non-Hodgkin lymphoma. It is also on a list of known carcinogens in the state of California. There is growing international action to ban or restrict the use of glyphosate.

More than 13,000 people have filed suit against Monsanto Company (now Bayer) alleging that exposure to Glyphosate caused them or their loved ones to develop non-Hodgkin lymphoma, and that Monsanto covered up the risks. Melbourne based legal firm Carbone Lawyers has launched the first lawsuit in Australia alleging Bayer ‘s product Roundup caused their client’s non-Hodgkins lymphoma (Reported June 2019). It is being coined “the next asbestos”. 

“Exposing bees to glyphosate alters the bee gut community and increases susceptibility to infection by opportunistic pathogens” (Research published by E Motta, K Raymann, NA Moran, 2018). It is not far fetched to think this also impacts other pollinators and humans.

For anyone that would like to express their concerns directly: 

The general contact for Midcoast Council is:

Telephone: 6591 7222

Email: council@midcoast.nsw.gov.au.

Terry Inkson – Strategic Weeds Biosecurity Officer  

Telephone 02 659 17222

 

To contact the mayor and councillors:

 

David West - Mayor of MidCoast Council

·         Telephone0447 749 877

·         Emailmayor@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Katheryn Smith - Deputy Mayor
·         Telephone0411 987 371

·         Emailcr.smith@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Kathryn Bell - Councillor
·         Telephone0427 629 428

·         Emailcr.bell@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Brad Christensen - Councillor
·         Telephone0447 746 223

·         Emailcr.christensen@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Peter Epov - Councillor
·         Telephone0447 791 759

·         Emailcr.epov@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Troy Fowler -Councillor
·         Telephone0447 738 746

·         Emailcr.fowler@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Karen Hutchinson - Councillor
·         Telephone0414 863 045

·         Emailcr.hutchinson@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Dr David Keegan - Councillor
·         Telephone0447 762 344

·         Emailcr.keegan@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Jan McWilliams - Councillor
·         Telephone0417 024 529

·         Emailcr.mcwilliams@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Claire Pontin - Councillor
·         Telephone0447 756 708

·         Emailcr.pontin@midcoast.nsw.gov.au

Len Roberts - Councillor
·         Telephone0403 071 922

·         Emailcr.roberts@midcoast.nsw.gov.au