Quality housing options for people with mental illnesses

0 have signed. Let’s get to 100!


People who suffer from a mental illness encounter many roadblocks when trying to pursue a "normal" lifestyle. Unfortunately, adequate housing almost seems unattainable for these individuals. The average rent in the city of Bethlehem, PA is around $800.00-$900.00 for a 1 or 2-bedroom apartment. Many individuals with mental illness can only count on their monthly Social Security Income (SSI), which is typically $735.00. Due to the lack in finances, many individuals choose to rent rooms and lose hope of someday being able to live independently. 

One solution to this problem could be transforming the Martin Tower, a vacant 21-story building located in Bethlehem, into affordable apartments or studios for individuals who suffer from mental illnesses and have limited income. Other solutions may involve remodeling smaller abandoned building throughout the city, or increasing the number of supported living programs available throughout the Lehigh Valley. Having stable housing could relieve much stress, consequently improving mental stability and increasing quality of life. 

Since the closing of several state hospitals, these individuals have been left with little to no resources. It is time to help those who need it the most! 

State Senator: Lisa M. Boscola - boscola@pasenate.com

Bethlehem city council members: 

Bryan G. Callahan - BCALLAHAN@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV
Michael G. Colón - MCOLON@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV
Eric R. Evans - EEVANS@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV
Shawn M. Martell - SMARTELL@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV
Olga Negrón -  ONEGRON@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV
J. William Reynolds - JREYNOLDS@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV
Adam R. Waldron - AWALDRON@BETHLEHEM-PA.GOV



Today: Madelyn is counting on you

Madelyn Veliz needs your help with “michael : Quality housing options for people with mental illnesses”. Join Madelyn and 36 supporters today.