Create truly affordable housing in the Mission District, stop making our families homeless

Petition Closed

Create truly affordable housing in the Mission District, stop making our families homeless

This petition had 127 supporters


Calle 24 Latino Cultural District is a volunteer organization officially established by the S.F. Board of Supervisors and Mayor Ed Lee. Calle 24 advocates for merchants, residents, landlords, non-profits, arts organizations, youth, renters, homeowners, families and artists.  We have deep roots in the Mission District going back many generations.

In May 2014, Our first task funded by Mayor Lee and the City and County’s Office of Economic and Workforce Development was to determine the vision, mission, goals, and needs of the Mission District.

Through focus groups, stakeholder interviews, and public meetings, it was concluded that the top priority is housing. We are being displaced by unchecked development in our community and sky-rocketing rents

Thousands have neighbors who are displaced or homeless. There are 2000 homeless children in San Francisco, many living in tents in the Mission District. Families who have lived here for decades, workers who built this city, artists, teachers, and more live in constant fear of displacement.

We are distressed that our future is disrespected by real estate and investment interests that neither understand nor care about the needs of the Mission District. It is a community priority that we exist as a living cultural district, not just a colorful tourist destination.

We now ask Mayor Ed Lee, Board of Supervisors, Planning Commissioners, and Planning Director John Rahim to do the following: 

1.  Prioritize and fast track genuinely affordable housing projects in the Mission District, including the 17th and Folsom, Shotwell and Cesar Chavez, and 1950 Mission Street sites.

2. Slow the North Mission land grab by enacting interim controls that stop market rate development in the Latino Cultural District to provide a window of time to study and develop new approaches that allow for genuinely affordable housing. The Eastern Neighborhoods plan isn’t adequate for today’s housing climate. As market rate housing climbs to $1000 per square foot, mandated “Affordable Housing” is no longer affordable for the majority of current residents.

3. Protect current small business by enacting interim controls on high-end restaurants and the merging of retail commercial space.  

4. Create a Japantown-like Special Use District that protects the cultural and historic assets of the Latino Cultural District.  

We ask The City to hear the voices of our community, stop the displacement, and create housing that is truly for all. 

It may seem counter intuitive to seek interim controls on development of new housing, But current development projects do no supply for truly affordable family homes. The recent  developments are a true threat to our very existence.  We are not seeking to keep people out; rather, we are trying to keep essential economic and cultural diversity in the Latino Cultural District.  We must stabilize our community and maintain the vibrancy of the Mission District. The Latino Cultural District process was funded and supported by Mayor Ed Lee and the City and County’s Office of Economic and Workforce Development.
 
 
 And please contact directly:

Lee, Mayor Edwin" mayoredwinlee@sfgov.org
Julie Christensen julie.christensen@sfgov.org
Suervisor David Campos david.campos@sfgov.org
Suervisor Malia Cohen malia.cohen@sfgov.org
Supervisor Eric Mar eric.l.mar@sfgov.org
Supervisor Jane Kim Jane.kim@sfgov.org
Supervisor John Avalos John.Avalos@sfgov.org
Supervisor Katy Tang katy.tang@sfgov.org
Supervisor London Breed london.breed@sfgov.org
Supervisor Mark Farrell mark.farrell@sfgov.org
Supervisor Norman Yee norman.yee@sfgov.org
Supervisor Scott Wiener scott.wiener@sfgov.org
Christine Johnson christine.d.johnson@sfgov.org
Cindy Wu cwu.planning@gmail.com
Commission Secretary commissions.secretary@sfgov.org
Dennis Richards dennis.richards@sfgov.org
Gwyneth Borden plangsf@gmail.com
Kathryn Moore mooreurban@aol.com
Michael Antonini <wordweaver21@aol.com
Rich Hills richhillissf@yahoo.com
Rodney Fong planning@rodneyfong.com

 



Today: Julie is counting on you

Julie Levak-Madding needs your help with “Mayor Ed Lee, Board of Supervisors, Planning Commissioners, and Planning Director John Rahim: Create truly affordable housing in the Mission District, stop making our families homeless”. Join Julie and 126 supporters today.