Petition Closed

Join Mayors for the Freedom to Marry

This petition had 282 supporters

366 Mayors from 38 states and Washington DC have joined the Mayors for the Freedom to Marry pledge, including Ten in Virginia.

Mayor Faye Prichard – Ashland.  Mayor Brian Moore - Petersburg.   Mayor Nick Kitchen – Capron.  Mayor Paul Fraim – Norfolk.  Mayor James Sturgis – Eastville.  Mayor William Euille – Alexandria.  Mayor Scott Silverthorne – Fairfax.  Mayor Satyendra Singh Huja – Charlottesville.  Mayor Mimi Elrod – Lexington.   Mayor Ron Rordam – Blacksburg.

Unfortunately Mayor Dwight Jones isn't listed.

The strength and health of our cities are enhanced when all families are protected and supported. Many loving and committed same-sex couples are active participants in improving our communities, and they deserve to know their mayor supports them, too. Furthermore, the freedom to marry enhances the economic competitiveness of our communities, improves the lives of families that call our cities homes, and is simply the right thing to do.

CBS 6 asked the Mayors office for comment on the Presidents support for same sex marriage.  Reaction from the Mayor’s office reads:

“This is one issue that President Obama and I disagree on.  Despite this disagreement however, I applaud the efforts and work of President Obama and his administration and I will do whatever I can to ensure he is re-elected.”

Please urge Mayor Dwight Jones to sign the Mayors for the Freedom to Marry pledge by signing this petition and sharing it with your friends, families and neighbors.

Today: Roland is counting on you

Roland Winston needs your help with “Mayor Dwight Jones: Join Mayors for the Freedom to Marry”. Join Roland and 281 supporters today.