Petition Closed
Petitioning Monash University Chancellor Alan Finkel and 25 others

Keep democratically elected students and staff on Monash University Council! We deserve a voice!

The Victorian State Government is attempting to legislate to remove democratically elected student and staff representatives from the Monash University Council, and from University and TAFE Councils generally, as of the beginning of 2013.

These changes have already been publicly opposed by the University of Melbourne’s Council, and their opposition communicated to all staff in an email from the Chancellor, Elizabeth Alexander, on 25 October. Providing reasons for the Council’s decision, Ms Alexander stated:

We value the perspective these (elected staff and student) members bring to the debate of issues and the dedication they show to their responsibilities. Their presence is a practical application of Council's commitment to consultation and transparency.

Council believes strongly that the governance of universities is concerned with much more than business and financial outcomes and has as its objective the delivery of quality educational and social outcomes, which include broad social inclusion and equity. That should also extend to the membership of Council.

Unfortunately, all indications from the Monash University Administration suggest that Monash’s Chancellor, Alan Finkel, as well as the majority of Monash University Councillors currently support the changes.

For more information, please visit


Letter to
Monash University Chancellor Alan Finkel
MLA for Frankston Geoff Shaw
MLA for Caulfield David Southwick
and 23 others
MLA for Ferntree Gully Nick Wakeling
MLC for Northern Metropolitan Nazih Elasmar
MLC for Western Victoria Gayle Tierney
MLA for Richmond Richard Wynne
MLA for Dandenong John Pandazopoulos
MLA for Clayton Hong Lim
MLA for Albert Park Martin Foley
Premier Ted Baillieu
Shadow Minister for Education James Merlino
MLA for Prahan Clem Newton-Brown
MLA for Seymour Cindy McLeish
Monash University Vice Chancellor Ed Byrne
Minister for Higher Education and Skills Peter Hall
Leader of the Opposition Daniel Andrews
MLC for Southern Metropolitan Region Sue Pennicuik
President of the Academic Board John Sheridan
Professional Staff Representative Jeffrey Bender
Academic Staff Representative Carol Williams
Deputy Vice Chancellor Education, Professor Adam Shoemaker
Provost Professor Edwina Cornish
MLA for Brighton Louise Asher
MLA for Mildura Peter Crisp
MLA for Bentleigh Elizabeth Miller
Dear Premier, Minister, MPs, Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, Councillors and University Administrators,

We, the undersigned students and staff at Monash University, oppose the removal of democratically elected student and staff representatives from Monash University Council.

We demand that the Monash University Council, just like the University of Melbourne, expresses publicly its opposition to the Victorian Government’s proposed legislative changes and reaffirms its commitment to democratically elected student and staff representation, acknowledging the important contribution these positions make towards educational quality and excellence.

Further, we demand that the bill before Parliament is withdrawn so as to ensure that our right to democratically elected staff and student representation on University Council will continue to be protected.

Monash Uni Watch Admin started this petition with a single signature, and now has 454 supporters. Start a petition today to change something you care about.