Petition update

RED C poll: Two thirds majority want Govt to stop funding greyhound racing

Irish Council Against Blood Sports ICABS
Ireland, Ireland

Oct 3, 2019 — 

A RED C opinion poll commissioned by the Irish Council Against Blood Sports (ICABS) and Greyhound Action Ireland (GAI) shows that two out of every three Irish adults agree that the government should stop funding greyhound racing.

The results of the poll, which was carried out between September 19th and 23rd, should increase pressure on the government to end its funding of an industry responsible for killing between 6,000 and 10,000 greyhounds every year simply because they can’t run fast enough.

Results of the RED C poll:

The Irish Government should stop funding greyhound racing

66% Agree
16% Disagree
18% Don't Know

Of those stating an opinion, 80% of these agree that the Irish Government should stop funding greyhound racing while 20% disagree with this.

At the recent Public Accounts Committee hearing attended by the Irish Greyhound Board (IGB), several TDs expressed their unhappiness at the scale of public funding of greyhound racing, an activity which continues to decline in popularity year on year. Among the facts singled out for particular mention at that hearing were the following:

- Greyhound racing gets €323,000 a week from the public purse - since 2001, more than a quarter of a billion euros has been granted to the Irish Greyhound Board, including €16.8 million for 2019.

- Attendance at greyhound meetings has fallen to an average of 319, down 19% in 2018 compared to 2017. The IGB has admitted that since the end of June when the PrimeTime Investigates programme lifted the lid on the horrific treatment of dogs in this industry, attendance has fallen by a further 20%.

- Turnover from racing has fallen dramatically in recent years, from €32.9 million in 2010 to €22.7 million in 2017.

The current government, and previous governments, have increased their funding of greyhound racing in inverse proportion to its popularity among the Irish public. This waste of public money on a cruel and dying industry must stop.

If Finance Minister, Paschal Donohoe, goes ahead and gives another €16.8 million to the IGB on October 8th, then serious questions must be asked as to why he insists on throwing good money after bad in the face of significant public opposition the funding.

ACTION ALERT

STOP THE STATE FUNDING FOR GREYHOUND RACING

Since 2001, the Irish Government has paid out more than a quarter of a billion euros of taxpayers' money to greyhound racing. It is time for these grants to be finally ended. Not a single cent more of public funds should end up in this shameful industry. Contact Taoiseach Leo Varadkar and Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe now.

An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar
Government Buildings,
Upper Merrion St, Dublin 2
Telephone: +353 (0)1-6194020
Email: taoiseach@taoiseach.gov.ie; leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie; finegael@finegael.ie
Tweet to: @LeoVaradkar
Leave a comment on Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/LeoVaradkar

Paschal Donohoe TD
Minister for Finance
Email: paschal.donohoe@oireachtas.ie; minister@per.gov.ie
Phone: +353 (0)1 6045810
Leave a comment on Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/PaschalDonohoe/
Tweet to @Paschald

Email “I support an end to all state funding to the cruel greyhound industry” to all Fine Gael TDs

maria.bailey@oireachtas.ie; sean.barrett@oireachtas.ie; pat.breen@oireachtas.ie; colm.brophy@oireachtas.ie; richard.bruton@oireachtas.ie; peter.burke@oireachtas.ie; catherine.byrne@oireachtas.ie; Ciaran.Cannon@oireachtas.ie; joe.carey@oireachtas.ie; corcorankennedy@eircom.net; Simon.Coveney@oireachtas.ie; michael.creed@oireachtas.ie; michael.darcy@oireachtas.ie; Jim.Daly@oireachtas.ie; john.deasy@oireachtas.ie; Pat.Deering@oireachtas.ie; Regina.Doherty@oireachtas.ie; Paschal.Donohoe@oireachtas.ie; andrew.doyle@oireachtas.ie; bernard.durkan@oireachtas.ie; damien.english@oireachtas.ie; Alan.Farrell@oireachtas.ie; frances.fitzgerald@oir.ie; peterm.fitzpatrick@oireachtas.ie; charles.flanagan@oireachtas.ie; Brendan.Griffin@oireachtas.ie; Simon.Harris@oireachtas.ie; Martin.Heydon@oireachtas.ie; Heather.Humphreys@oireachtas.ie; paul.kehoe@oireachtas.ie; enda.kenny@oireachtas.ie; Sean.Kyne@oireachtas.ie; josepha.madigan@oireachtas.ie; helen.mcentee@oireachtas.ie; joe.mchugh@oireachtas.ie; Tony.McLoughlin@oireachtas.ie; Mary.MitchellOConnor@oireachtas.ie; Dara.Murphy@oireachtas.ie; Eoghan.Murphy@oireachtas.ie; hildegarde.naughton@oireachtas.ie; tom.neville@limerick.ie; michael.noonan@oireachtas.ie; kate.oconnell@oireachtas.ie; Patrick.O'Donovan@oireachtas.ie; fergus.odowd@oireachtas.ie; JohnPaul.Phelan@oireachtas.ie; michael.ring@oireachtas.ie; noel@noelrock.ie; david.stanton@oir.ie; leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie

Email “I support an end to all state funding to the cruel greyhound industry” to all Fianna Fáil TDs

billykelleher@eircom.net; sean.haughey@oireachtas.ie; Bobby.Aylward@oireachtas.ie; brendan.smith@oireachtas.ie; johncurranff@gmail.com; Charlie.McConalogue@oireachtas.ie; michael.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie; sean.ofearghail@oireachtas.ie; john.brassil@oireachtas.ie; darragh.obrien@oireachtas.ie; eamon.ocuiv@oireachtas.ie; jackie.cahill@oireachtas.ie; john.mcguinness@oireachtas.ie; mattie.mcgrath@oireachtas.ie; micheal.martin@oireachtas.ie; michael.moynihan.td@oireachtas.ie; niall.collins@oireachtas.ie; coper@eircom.net; Robert.Troy@oireachtas.ie; thomas.byrne@oireachtas.ie; timmy.dooley@oireachtas.ie; barry.cowen@oireachtas.ie; fiona@fiona.ie; declan.breathnach@oireachtas.ie; mary.butler@oireachtas.ie; kevin.okeeffe@oireachtas.ie; dara.calleary@oireachtas.ie; escanlonmcc@eircom.net; sean.fleming@oireachtas.ie; niamh.smyth@oireachtas.ie; james@jameslawless.ie; shane.cassells@oireachtas.ie; willie.odea@oireachtas.ie; margaret.murphyomahony@oireachtas.ie; anne.rabbitte@oireachtas.ie; eugene.murphy@oireachtas.ie; jack.chambers@outlook.com; james.browne@oireachtas.ie; john.lahart@oireachtas.ie; lisa.chambers@oireachtas.ie; marc.macsharry@oireachtas.ie; jim.ocallaghan@oireachtas.ie; pat.casey@oireachtas.ie; aindrias.moynihan@oireachtas.ie; frankorourke1@gmail.com

Email “I support an end to all state funding to the cruel greyhound industry” to all Labour Party TDs
brendan.howlin@oireachtas.ie; joan.burton@oireachtas.ie; alan.kelly@oir.ie; jan.osullivan@oir.ie; willie.penrose@oireachtas.ie; brendan.ryan@oir.ie; sean.sherlock@oir.ie

Visit the Oireachtas website for full contact details for all TDs
https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/members/tds/?term=/ie/oireachtas/house/dail/32

Watch “RTE Investigates Greyhounds Running for Their Lives” to witness the horrors of cruel greyhound racing
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYTb2qBjlMM

138,000 sign petition urging Irish Government to stop funding the cruel greyhound industry. Thank you to everyone who has signed - please continue sharing
https://change.org/p/irish-government-stop-giving-millions-of-euro-to-cruel-greyhound-industry

Irish Government grants to greyhound racing

2001 €11,777,583
2002 €13,613,163
2003 €12,837,200
2004 €13,382,800
2005 €13,670,000
2006 €14,012,000
2007 €14,572,000
2008 €15,257,000
2009 €13,625,600
2010 €11,852,800
2011 €11,460,000
2012 €11,258,000
2013 €11,004,000
2014 €10,844,000
2015 €13,600,000
2016 €14,800,000
2017 €16,000,000
2018 €16,000,000
2019 €16,800,000

Total: €256 million (€0.256 Billion)

Source of grant figures: Agriculture Minister Michael Creed in response to a Dail Question in December 2018
https://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2018-12-04a.1259


Keep fighting for people power!

Politicians and rich CEOs shouldn't make all the decisions. Today we ask you to help keep Change.org free and independent. Our job as a public benefit company is to help petitions like this one fight back and get heard. If everyone who saw this chipped in monthly we'd secure Change.org's future today. Help us hold the powerful to account. Can you spare a minute to become a member today?

I'll power Change with $5 monthlyPayment method

Discussion

Please enter a comment.

We were unable to post your comment. Please try again.