Rename Rail Stations in the memories of Lankesh, Pansare, Kalburgi and Dabholkar

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!

Recently there has been continuous effort to destroy the long cherished pluralist heritage of India. Our country enjoys more than two thousand years heritage of rational schools of thought. But today, this rational mind is at the center of all attacks. The destroying forces are not only satisfied by twisting and suppressing historical facts, but are equally aggressive in growing an anti-scientific temperament and resorting to full-fledged violence in the society. They are openly assassinating prominent and critical thinkers like Dabholkar, Pansare, Kalburgi and Lankesh, continuing the tradition of assassination, which started from Gandhi in independent India. It seems that these people are a part and parcel of the same terrorists who have been slaughtering the free thinkers in Bangladesh.

It is absolutely clear that these goons are playing stooges to some more powerful political forces whose dire need is to erase the beginning words of the Preamble of our Constitution, ‘Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic’.

A hateful ideology today seeks to erase all egalitarian and inclusive ideas of economic and social justice. Crude and blatant attempts are going on to erase the names and struggles of liberal and progressive individuals from the Indian independence history. Commemoration and reminder of history, generating mass consciousness and sentiment through dedicating public spaces in the name of significant historical figures and martyrs is a common instrument of all Governments. But statue-vandalism and renaming public places in the name of people with questionableroles in national freedom struggle is an ironical and dangerous re-branding of the imagination of Indian nation. Hence, the current scenario calls for a larger and stronger unity among our country men to save the idea of India.

We demand faster investigation and punishment of the killers of Davolkar, Pansare, Kalburgi and Lankesh. We think that the Government of India must take immediate action to let each Indian citizen realize that the Government is not at all sympathetic to these terrorists.

We also demand that four public places, preferably four rail stations should be identified in the two states of Maharashtra and Karnataka, the nearest ones to the four locations of their assasination, which are still dripping with the blood of Davolkar, Pansare, Kalburgi and Lankesh.

We, the following signatories, demand those four stations to be renamed after these martyrs immediately.


G. N. Devy, Padmashree and Founder-Director of Bhasha Research and Publication Centre

N. Ram, Chairman of TheHindu Publishing Group

Prashant Bhushan, Lawyer and Convenor, CJAR

Rajdeep Sardesai, Consulting Editor, India Today Group

Teesta Setalvad, Secretary, Citizens for Justice and Peace 

Yogendra Yadav, Academic and Secretary of Swaraj India

Binayak Sen, Vice-President of People’s Union for Civil Liberties

Paranjoy Guha Thakurta, Author and journalist

Aruna Roy, Social Activist and Founder, MKSS

Aakar Patel, Journalist and Executive Director of Amnesty International India

Sagarika Ghose, Consulting Editor, The Times of India

Anil Sadgopal, Educationist

Kavita Lankesh, Film-maker and kin of Late Gauri Lankesh

Megha Pansare, Activist and kin of Late Govind Pansare

Hamid Dabholkar, Activist and kin of Late Govind Pansare

Ashok Kumar Ganguly, Ex-Chairman of West Bengal Human Rights Commission and ex-judge of Supreme Court of India

Malini Bhattacharya, Ex-Chairperson of West Bengal Women’s Commission and ex-Member of Parliament

Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, Ex-Mayor of Kolkata and ex-Advocate General of Tripura

Bimal Chatterjee, Ex-Advocate General of West Bengal

Hannan Mollah, General Secretary of All India KishanShabha and ex-Member of Parliament

Vineet Tiwari, National Secretary, Progressive Writers' Association

Samar Bagchi, Ex-Director of Birla Industrial and Technological Museum

Pabitra Sarkar, Academic and ex-Vice Chancellor of RabindraBharati University

Dipali Bhattacharya, Painter and ex-Principle of Government College of Art and Craft, Calcutta

Sujata Bhadra, Human Rights Activist

Wasim Kapoor, Painter

Narbhinder Singh, Association for Democratic Rights, Punjab

Monosij Mazumdar, Journalist

Jaya Mehta, Senior Economist, Joshi-Adhikari Institute of Social Studies

Neeraj Jain, Editor of Janata Weekly and Convenor, Lokayat, Pune

 Arun Khote. PMARC