URGENT: Signatures are required to REVISE London’s EXISTING Bus Rapid Transit initiative

0 have signed. Let’s get to 2,500!


WE THE TAXPAYERS AND RESIDENTS OF LONDON WANT THIS DEEPLY FLAWED SHIFT PROCESS TO HALT IMMEDIATELY WITH A NEW IN DEPTH REVIEW

SIGN THIS PETITION SO ALL LONDONERS HAVE AN EQUAL SAY IN THE FUTURE OF OUR CITY

Your Voice Must Be Heard,  London Needs Better Public Transportation

But at What Cost?

For almost two years, London taxpayers have been taken on a confusing rollercoaster ride by City of London Administration and Council about the future of a new transit system.

From rail to buses, this multi-million dollar question mark has acted as a dividing rod rather than a City project that provides a critical resource for the decades ahead.

Even Council members say the City has failed at good communication with the many stakeholder groups. Public consultation numbers show unsubstantiated totals from festivals and political breakfasts.

We hear of tunnels that will burrow beneath City streets for years during the construction process, parking that will disappear, roads that will be reduced to one lane even in busy corridors, millions of hidden costs in land expropriations and construction problems. Homeowners have the potential to see long lines of traffic searching for alternative routes through their quiet neighbourhoods. Heavy construction will impact those neighbourhoods.

Western University, seen as a major client with thousands of students, is pushing back with expensive demands.

Businesses, in an already strapped core, see what happened in other cities where major transit projects have damaged local business in our region and see a dire future.

Just The Facts

Cost Estimate - $560M to $1B Construction

  •  $30 million for a new special transportation office at London City Hall 
  •  Land expropriation costs remain an unknown mystery 
  •  Law suits from individuals and businesses harmed by construction 
  •  Increased operation costs for LTC are a mystery

What About Ridership?

  •  The City has steadfastly refused to release a study to determine if the new system will attract even one more rider.

Consultation

  •  More detailed, open and transparent consultation is required. 
  •  Council members are saying they need more strategic information.

Get Involved !!!

Contact:     DownShiftLondon.com


Remember - London City Council was never elected with a mandate to spend hundreds of millions of tax dollars on a new transit system. Londoners have long agreed a new and improved LTC is a requirement for a sustainable community. But a process that bounced from one concept to another with no explanation with unknown and hidden costs, with no guarantee of more ridership, and a business plan with frail outcomes - isn't the answer.

Contact your City Councillor and voice your opinion: 

  • Matt Brown     mayor@london.ca 
  • Ward 1 Michael van Holst   mvanholst@london.ca 
  • Ward 2 Bill Armstrong     barmstro@london.ca 
  • Ward 3 Mo Mohamed Salih      msalih@london.ca 
  • Ward 4 Jesse Helmer      jhelmer@london
  • Ward 5 Maureen Cassidy     mcassidy@london.ca 
  • Ward 6 Phil Squire     psquire@london.ca 
  • Ward 7 Josh Morgan      joshmorgan@london.ca 
  • Ward 8 Paul Hubert      phubert@london.ca 
  • Ward 9 Anna Hopkins      ahopkins@london.ca 
  • Ward 10 Virginia Ridley      vridley@london.ca 
  • Ward 11 Stephen Turner      sturner@london.ca 
  • Ward 12 Harold L. Usher      husher@london.ca 
  • Ward 13 Tanya Park      tpark@london.ca 
  • Ward 14 Jared Zaifman      jzaifman@london.ca

 



Today: Down Shift is counting on you

Down Shift London needs your help with “http://downshiftlondon.nationbuilder.com”. Join Down Shift and 2,109 supporters today.