Victory

NO INCINERATOR ON BIG ISLAND

This petition made change with 1,404 supporters!


The proposed incinerator would send a steady stream of toxins into the air, including mercury, cadmium, lead, arsenic, PCBs, dioxins, and countless other carcinogens. In the airborne form, these poisons are at their most deadly and would drift over the entire island, affecting all residents and tourists, alike. 

The worst aspect of waste-to-energy is a hidden fact: these incinerator power plants function optimally only when there is a non-stop abundance of trash to fuel them -- more garbage than we can possibly produce. 

Since the County does not produce enough garbage to meet its quota, it will be required to pay off the incinerator company for the garbage it cannot produce -- to tune of millions of dollars per year! The County intends to try to meet its garbage quota by setting up expensive operations to truck garbage to Hilo from all over the island. And if this leads to a waste reduction in the West Hawaii landfill (Puuanahulu), the landfill company will fine the County $1,000 per day for failing to deliver the minimum amount of waste contracted to go into the landfill. All of it, of course, would be passed on to taxpayers. These continued fines, would be an overwhelming fiscal drain on the County, and would certainly wipe out any incentive for recycling in our community.

A so-called "waste-to-energy" incinerator destroys a community's chances of ever enjoying a sustainable future.

Continual updates can be found at www.noburnhawaii.org  and Facebook - No Incinerator on Hawaii Island.

In addition, please sign the petition listed at the bottom of the page to TELL DEVELOPERS TO ABANDON THEIR GARBAGE INCINERATOR PROJECT FOR HAWAII.

Go that extra step and write directly to your County Councilperson! (please carbon-copy noburnhawaii@gmail.com, to make sure it does not fall through the cracks).

DISTRICT 1 - Valerie Poindexter  valerie.poindexter@hawaiicounty.gov 

DISTRICT 2 - Aaron Chung aaron.chung@hawaiicounty.gov   

DISTRICT 3 - Dennis "Fresh" Onishi - dennis.onishi@hawaiicounty.gov 

DISTRICT 4 - Greggor Ilagan - greggor.ilagan@hawaiicounty.gov  

DISTRICT 5 - Danny Paleka daniel.paleka@hawaiicounty.gov 

DISTRICT 6 - Maile "Madeiros" David maile.david@hawaiicounty.gov 

DISTRICT 7 - Dru Mamo Kanuha dru.kanuha@hawaiicounty.gov  

DISTRICT 8 - Karen Eoff karen.eoff@hawaiicounty.gov 

DISTRICT 9 - Margaret Wille margaret.wille@hawaiicounty.gov

www.noburnhawaii.org



Today: Gwen is counting on you

Gwen Ilaban needs your help with “Hawaii County Council: NO INCINERATOR ON BIG ISLAND”. Join Gwen and 1,403 supporters today.