Victory

Stop Anti-Free Speech Ordinance in Grand Rapids

This petition made change with 106 supporters!


First ward commissioner Dave Shaffer has signaled his intent to introduce a new ordinance prohibiting panhandling in the city of Grand Rapids between 5 and 7pm city wide and AT ALL TIMES on specific corners.  That's right the city has selected several corners where free speech rights simply do not apply. Keep in mind individuals soliciting for businesses will still be allowed to wave placards, and distract drivers to their hearts content. This comes almost three years after a panhandling ban that was declared unconstitutional cost the city almost 50 thousand dollars in a legal settlement. This time the city thinks it can hide away the poor and strip us all of our free speech rights under the guise of pedestrian safety. 

The proposed ordinance opens the city up to fresh legal challenges, limits our free speech rights, further stigmatizes our most vulnerable neighbors and does nothing to address the majority of pedestrian vehicle accidents. The city commission will discuss this matter on December the 12th at 7pm - please attend and tell our city leaders we don't approve of limiting free speech rights in an effort to push our most vulnerable citizens further into the shadows. Additionally please contact your city commissioners. 

 

First Ward Commissioner
Dave Shaffer
dshaffer@grcity.us
Phone: 456-3855

First Ward Commissioner 
Jon O'Connor
joconnor@grcity.us
Phone: 456-3035

 Second Ward Commissioner
Joseph D. Jones
jdjones@grcity.us
Phone: 456-3858

Second Ward Commissioner
Ruth E. Kelly

Biography >>

rkelly@grcity.us

Phone: 456-3035

Third Ward Commissioner
Senita Lenear
slenear@grcity.us

Phone: 456-3035

 

Third Ward Commissioner
David Allen
dcallen@grcity.us
Phone: 456-3035

 



Today: G is counting on you

G B needs your help with “Grand Rapids City Commision : Stop Anti-Free Speech Ordinance in Grand Rapids”. Join G and 105 supporters today.