Petition Closed

Let our kids walk to school next year (and get a better education as well).

This petition had 156 supporters


On Monday night 6 members of the Eatontown Board of Education voted to redistrict the schools in Eatontown. The financial considerations were not well thought-out nor well proven. On the other side many of the benefits of children attending the same school from K-6 were not considered by these board members.

Unfortunately only about 20 parents showed up for the meeting. This is understandable considering the busyness plight of the modern family. That said, the overwhelming majority of the parents expressed their disapproval of the change. Many noted that families with more than one child would have to schedule multiple back-to-school nights, conferences, field days etc. Others noted that each school's PTO would likely suffer as involved parents would be either moving from school to school or have children in multiple schools making participation unrealistic.

For myself, I have always taken comfort in knowing that my children were in school together. The younger ones would always report that they had seen their older brothers in the hallway. And, by 4th Grade, getting to walk to school is a privilege they have all looked forward to.

This is a short list of reasons, none of them tied to education or budget but rather to community and family, that are intrinsic in the way Eatontown has always been. It's losing this part of our quality of life here that is so disheartening.

We, the undersigned, are parents and concerned citizens of Eatontown. We oppose the redistricting of our schools and ask our representatives on the Board of Education to reverse the decision before it is implemented.

The six members who voted for this plan are listed below along with their email addresses. Please write them. Please be civil. This is still a community and we can do this together.

President
Bob English - benglish@eatontown.org

Vice-President
Carl Lawson - clawson@eatontown.org

John Bennett - jbennett@eatontown.org

Deborah Martinock - dmartinock@eatontown.org

Sharyn Chasey-Palenzuela - spalenzuela@eatontown.org

Shellie Miller - smiller@eatontown.org

 



Today: Tria is counting on you

Tria Deibert needs your help with “Eatontown BOE - No Redistricting Please.”. Join Tria and 155 supporters today.