Vote Yes for Medical Evacuations from Manus and Nauru

0 have signed. Let’s get to 50,000!

Approximately 1200 refugees and asylum seekers are still detained on Manus Island and Nauru. 

Most of these, have severe physical and mental health problems. There are attempted suicides daily with medical staff at PIH on Manus Island and Port Moresby Hospital refusing even to attempt to threat the mentally ill. Here is only one example of the severely mentally ill and psychotic who are unable to be helped on these islands.

Before Christmas, Dr. Kerryn Phelps the Member for Wentworth, introduced a bill to allow for the emergency evacuation of refugees and asylum seekers from Manus Island and Nauru. Despite failing in the House of Reps, it was later passed as amendments to an existing the bill in the Senate. However, the amendments were not passed early enough in the Senate to get to the House of Representatives before it closed.

These amendments allow refugees to be temporarily transferred to Australia for medical treatment where it is not available locally upon the recommendation of two doctors. It also sets up a medical review board to examine all transfers and report to Parliament. 

The House of Representatives will vote on these amendments on Tuesday, 12 February 2019. As it is not new legislation but amendments to existing legislation, the legislation only requires a simple majority to pass. The hope is that there is enough cross bench support to pass it.

An article appeared in the Australian on Friday 8 Feb that said that despite Labor backing these amendments in the Senate, Labor is considering withdrawing its support in the House of Representatives. See the following article in the Australian:  Labor Considering Backdown

ASIO has said it will be a security risk to pass the bill. I have dealt with these arguments in a Facebook post on my timeline. All my activist posts are public so you can read the arguments there ASIO'S Security Risk Arguments Invalid

Please sign this petition and keep up the pressure on all our MPs to vote for this legislation.