Diverse Christian Leaders Call for Unity of Support Around the Election Outcome

Petition Closed

Diverse Christian Leaders Call for Unity of Support Around the Election Outcome

This petition had 165 supporters

Diverse Christian Leaders started this petition to Democratic National Committee and

Having a common commitment to our Christian Faith, as well as a shared love for our country, we, the undersigned recognizing the deeply divisive nature of this election cycle, seek the beginning of the healing of our nation. Above our Democratic, Republican, and Independent political affiliations, we are believers in Christ’s call to be honorable citizens and peacemakers, who seek the prosperity of our nation. We affirm that the Constitution, which guarantees our religious freedoms, allows us to have differing beliefs and opinions, and is the document that maintains the unity and civility of our nation.

We are grateful for the democracy in which we live. Once again, our nation endeavors to elect our next president through the democratic process. We affirm the legitimacy of the process, and therefore, call for the nation to unite around the election of the new President in recognition, acceptance, and support of the same.

We further call on the Congress of the United States, as a body of elected officials, to do their job, which is to represent the interests of the people of the United States. We collectively believe it is time to put partisan politics aside and end the toxic gridlock. It is time for men and women of goodwill to work together towards finding solutions to the many challenges that confront the American people.

We commit ourselves to pray God’s granting of wisdom to the incoming President, the Congress, and the Courts, as well as to hold both elected branches of government accountable to the promises they made, to lead and work on behalf of all of the citizens of this great nation.

Initial Signers are in alphabetical order. Organizations and titles listed for identification purposes only and do not necessarily reflect the position of the institution.

Bishop Claude Alexander, Senior Pastor
The Park Church

Dr. Leith Anderson, President
National Association of Evangelicals

Enid M. Almanzar, Director of NY Mobilization
American Bible Society.

Pastor Dana Baker
Pastor of Social Justice and Multicultural Ministries
Grace Chapel

Bishop George E. Battle, Jr., Senior Bishop
A.M.E. Zion Church

Dr. A R Bernard, Senior Pastor
Christian Cultural Center

S. Douglas Birdsall, President
The Civilitas Group

Rev. Traci D. Blackmon, Acting Executive Minister
Justice & Witness Ministries
United Church of Christ

Dr. Charles E. Booth, Senior Pastor
Mt. Olivet Baptist Church

Bishop John R. Bryant - Retired Bishop
A.M.E. Church

Dr. Jerry Cannon, Senior Pastor
C N Jenkins Presbyterian Church

Rev. Bryan Carter, Senior Pastor
Concord Church

Bishop Timothy Clarke, Senior Pastor
First Church of God - Columbus, Ohio

Dr. Joe Clifford, Senior Pastor
Myers Park Presbyterian Church

Rev. Mark Davis, Sr. Pastor
Park Cities Presbyterian Church

Pastor RJ Davis, Senior Pastor
Nations Ford Community Church

Dr. David Dean, Chairman and CEO
Dean International, Inc

Dr. James Denison, CEO
Denison Forum on Truth and Culture

Bob Doll, Chief Equity Strategist
Nuveen Investments

Archbishop J. Delano Ellis, II, Metropolitan
Joint College of African-American Pentecostal Bishops

Dr. Natalie A. Francisco, Co-Pastor
Calvary Community Church

Rev. Donnie R. Garris, Moderator
United Missionary Baptist Association

Brandt Gillespie, President

W Wilson Goode, Sr., President and CEO Amachi, Inc.

Dr. Cynthia Hale, Senior Pastor
Ray of Hope Christian Church

Dr. Charley Hames, Jr., Senior Pastor
Beebe Memorial Cathedral C.M.E. Church

Lisa Sharon Harper, Church Engagement Officer

Dr. Bob Henderson, Senior Pastor
Covenant Presbyterian Church

Rev. Dr. Katharine Henderson, President Auburn Seminary

Obery M. Hendricks, Ph.D
Visiting Scholar of Religion
Columbia University

Rev Dr Daniel Hill, Senior Pastor
River City Community Church

Dr. Dennis P. Hollinger, President &
Colman M. Mockler Distinguished Professor of Christian Ethics
Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary

Shirley V. Hoogstra, President
Council for Christian Colleges & Universities

Dr. James Howell, Senior Pastor
Myers Park United Methodist Church

Dr. John Huffman, Pastor Emeritus
St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church,

Dr. Joel C. Hunter, Senior Pastor
Northland - A Church Distributed

Dr. John Jenkins, Senior Pastor
First Baptist Church Glenardnen

Rev. Rob Kelly, Executive Director
For Charlotte

Dr. Tim Laniak, Professor of Old Testament
Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary - Charlotte

Jo Anne Lyon, Ambassador
General Superintendent Emerita
The Wesleyan Church

Minister Leslie Watson Malachi, National Director
African American Ministers In Action

Bishop Rudolph W. McKissick, Jr., Senior Pastor
Bethel Baptist Institutional Church

Brian D McLaren
Convergence Network

Dr. Brenda Salter-McNeil, Director of Reconciliation Studies
School of Theology at Seattle Pacific University,

Dr. Mike Moses, Senior Pastor
Lake Forest Church

Peter Ochs
Chairman, First Fruit Inc.

Bishop Alfred Owens, Jr., Senior Bishop
Mt. Calvary Church of America, Inc.

Mr. Kevin Palau, President
Luis Palau Evangelistic Association

Rev. Luis Palau, Founder
Luis Palau Evangelistic Association

Steven Park, President
Little Lights Urban Ministries

Dr. James Perkins, President
Progressive National Baptist Convention, Inc.

Dr. Mac Pier, CEO and Founder
The NYC Leadership Center

Wesley A. Roberts, PhD, Senior Pastor
Peoples Baptist Church of Boston

Rev. Samuel Rodriguez, President
National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference
Hispanic Evangelical Association

Dr. J. Elvin Sadler
General Secretary-Auditor, The A.M.E. Zion Church

Rev. Dr. Gabriel Salguero, President
National Latino Evangelical Coalition

Dr. Robert Charles Scott, Senior Pastor-Elect
St. Paul Baptist Church

Dr. Barbara Williams Skinner, President,
Skinner Leadership Institute; Co-chair, National African American Clergy Network

Harold Smith, President and CEO
Christianity Today

Dr. T. DeWitt Smith, Jr., Co-Chair of the National African American Clergy Network

Dr. David Swanson, Senior Pastor
First Presbyterian Church

Bishop Walter S. Thomas, Sr., Senior Bishop
Kingdom Association of Covenant Pastors

Bishop Joseph Walker, III - Senior Bishop
Full Gospel Baptist Fellowship International

Rev. Jim Wallis, President and Founder

Dr. Jeff Warren, Senior Pastor
Park Cities Baptist Church

Rev. Matthew Watley, Executive Pastor
Reid Temple A.M.E. Church

Rev. Floretta Watkins, Senior Pastor
Seigle Avenue Presbyterian Church

Rev. Dr. Bryan Wilkerson
Sr Pastor, Grace Chapel

Dr. Stephen E. Witmer, Lead Pastor
Pepperell Christian Fellowship

William C. Wood, MD
Professor of Surgery, Emory University

Petition Closed

This petition had 165 supporters