Rename All UNC System Structures Currently Named After Racist, White Supremacists.

0 have signed. Let’s get to 10,000!



The University of North Carolina system is being called to rename the buildings on all seventeen campuses' that are named after racist white supremacists. With over 40+ buildings named after white supremacists on the oldest standing public university within the UNC system ALONE (UNC-Chapel Hill), The board has voted to lift its moratorium on changing the "honorary" names of structures on campus. This is 1 of 17 changes needing to be made by our University Chancellors and Student Body Presidents. 

"The University must continue to adapt if it is to help North Carolina face today’s challenges and those on the horizon."

With a clear mission defined by The University of North Carolina System, the student body is calling for action upon those words. 

This is an imperative change in order to allow students to feel at home on our campuses. This is an imperative change that needs to be made in order to address our implicit biases and become the campus our mission promises we are.

To be an ally means to uplift the voices of those who need to be heard, not speak over. In order to be an ally during this new era, it is essential that we address racial injustices in all facets of systematic oppression. This means not only addressing police brutality towards the Black community and People of Color, but now racial injustices underlying institutionalized higher education.


To The University of North Carolina System, 

let us have our voices be heard as allies to the movement to end racial injustice on all of 17 of our campuses. NC State University, UNC-Charlotte, Western Carolina University, Fayetteville State University, UNC-Chapel Hill, NC Agricultural and Technical University, UNC Asheville, UNC Pembroke, Elizabeth City State University, UNC School of the Arts, UNC Wilmington, NC Central University, Appalachian State University, Winston Salem State University, East Carolina University, and UNC Greensboro, and NC School of Science and Mathematics.