Petition Closed
Petitioning State Senator Tommy Wells 5 and 11 others

DC Council: Strike down the MINIMUM FARE language from the Uber Amendment

On Independence Day, Uber announced a roll out of a lower cost service that we call UberX. A less expensive Uber option on an all-hybrid fleet. We're pretty excited about it and think it's a great idea for cities across the country. What some of you probably noticed is that there was no roll out of this service in the District. That is because, only days earlier, the DC City Council informed us that they intended to pass an amendment to the taxi modernization bill that would make it illegal for Uber to lower its prices or to offer a low cost service in any form.

The Council’s intention is to prevent Uber from being a viable alternative to taxis by enacting a price floor to set Uber's minimum fare at today's rates and no less than 5 times a taxi's minimum fare. Consequently they are handicapping a reliable, high quality transportation alternative so that Uber cannot offer a high quality service at the best possible price. It was hard for us to believe that an elected body would choose to keep prices of a transportation service artificially high - but the goal is essentially to protect a taxi industry that has significant experience in influencing local politicians. They want to make sure there is no viable alternative to a taxi in Washington DC, and so on Tuesday (tomorrow!), the DC City Council is going to formalize that principle into law.

For obvious reasons, Uber is seriously concerned about punitive government intervention in a well functioning marketplace. Because of this we felt it was our responsibility to let our riders know about the issues at hand.

Take Action: THE COUNCIL VOTES ON THE UBER AMENDMENT TOMORROW!

If each of us writes or calls our DC Council people, we could make an impact on this law. What are we asking for?

Strike down the MINIMUM FARE language from the Uber Amendment (http://blog.uber.com/2012/07/09/uber-amendment/)

Here are the City Council members' contact info if you'd like to also reach out to them directly. Call/write as many of them as possible!

Phil Mendelson (Chairman), (202) 724-8064, pmendelson@dccouncil.us
Mary Cheh, Ward 3, (Chairperson of Committee on the Environment, Public Works and Transportation), (202) 724-8062, mcheh@dccouncil.us, @marycheh
Michael Brown, at-large, (202) 724-8105, mbrown@dccouncil.us,
@cmmichaelabrown

Jim Graham, Ward 1, (202) 724-8181, jgraham@dccouncil.us, @jimgrahamward1
Jack Evans, Ward 2, (202) 724-8058, jevans@dccouncil.us, @jackevansward2
Muriel Bowser, Ward 4, (202) 724-8052, mbowser@dccouncil.us, @murielbowser
Kenyan McDuffie, Ward 5, (202) 724-8028, kmcduffie@dccouncil.us, @kenyanmcduffie
Tommy Wells, Ward 6, (202) 724-8072, twells@dccouncil.us, @tommywells
Yvette Alexander, Ward 7, (202) 724-8068, yalexander@dccouncil.us, @cmyma
Marion Barry, Ward 8, (202) 724-8045, mbarry@dccouncil.us, @marionbarryjr
David Catania, at-large, (202) 724-7772, dcatania@dccouncil.us, @cataniapress
Vincent Orange, at-large, (202) 724-8174, vorange@dccouncil.us, @vincentorangedc

Keep the #UberDCLove alive. See full blog post here: http://blog.uber.com/2012/07/09/strike-down-the-minimum-fare/

Sincerely,
Travis Kalanick, Uber Co-Founder and CEO

Letter to
State Senator Tommy Wells 5
State Senator David Catania
State Senator Phil Mendelson
and 9 others
State Senator David Grosso
State Senator Marion Barry
State Senator Kenyan McDuffie
State Senator Mary Cheh
State Senator Muriel Bowser
State Senator Jack Evans
State Senator Jim Graham 4
State Senator Yvette Alexander
State Senator Vincent Orange 4
I just signed the following petition addressed to: DC Local Government.

----------------
Strike down the MINIMUM FARE language from the Uber Amendment.

On Independence Day, Uber announced a roll out of a lower cost service called UberX, a less expensive Uber option on an all-hybrid fleet. Because of the Uber amendment to the taxi modernization bill, we may not get to enjoy the benefits of a similar service here in DC.

As a DC resident and Uber supporter, I urge you to strike down the MINIMUM FARE language from the Uber Amendment in the Taxi Improvement Bill immediately (section 8C), and allow Uber to continue to set their own price for the services they provide.

Sincerely,