Petition to Stop the Craven County Commissioners Action on Critical Race Theory

Petition to Stop the Craven County Commissioners Action on Critical Race Theory

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!
At 500 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!

Nicole Kirch started this petition to Craven County Commissioners

In a symbolic gesture, the Craven County Commissioners have agreed to hold a vote August 2, 2021 on a resolution opposing the teaching or promotion of critical race theory and several other educational tools that seek to shed light on the country’s troubled racial history.

We the undersigned, are concerned citizens who urge the Craven County Commissioners to not take any actions regarding CRT or other educational tools regarding our racial history.

First, CRT is not a public school curriculum, but rather a college-level framework for historical studies.  However, there is a faction trying to work up our local citizens to demand that history lessons be designed so they don't have to hear what they don't want to hear.   This vote is largely symbolic.  But, this is a symbol of hate that does not represent us.

On August 2, the Craven County Board of Commissioners will hold a symbolic vote on a resolution “opposing the teaching or promotion of critical race theory (CRT) and several other educational tools that seek to shed light on the country’s troubled racial history.
The item will include an opportunity for citizens to voice their comments on the
increasingly controversial subjects of critical race theory, action civics and the New York Times Magazine’s The 1619 Project, which are included in the resolution.”

I am asking you to take action on this important issue. Learn what CRT is and what it is not. The following are some links to information about CRT -
* https://www.edweek.org/leadership/what-is-critical-race-theory-and-why-is-it-under-attack/2021/05
* https://www.npr.org/2021/06/23/1009592838/top-general-defends-studying-critical-race-theory-in-the-military?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_term=nprnews&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=politics
* https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2021/07/the-moral-panic-over-critical-race-theory-is-coming-for-a-north-carolina-teacher-of-the-year/

Then, contact each of our Commissioners to let your voice be heard. We learned from the Board of Education issue that it is very important to contact the Commissioners because they keep a count of the emails and phone calls for and against issues.
If possible, please try to attend the Commissioners’ meeting which will be held August 2, 2021beginning at 7:00 PM at the Convention Center.

Board of Commissioners contact information -

Jason Jones, Chair • jjones@cravencountync.gov • (252) 672-5656
Dennis Bucher, Vice Chair • dbucher@cravencountync.gov • (252) 229-6576
Thomas Mark • tmark@cravencountync.gov • (252) 349-8775
George Liner • gliner@cravencountync.gov • (252) 725-0191
Theron McCabe • tmccabe@cravencountync.gov • (252) 447-5257
Etteinne Mitchell • emitchell@cravencountync.gov • (252) 675-0109
Beatrice Smith • beatrice.smith@cravencountync.gov • (252) 772-5879

0 have signed. Let’s get to 500!
At 500 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!