Stop Hondo Enterprises building a 20-storey tower in the central Brixton heritage area

0 have signed. Let’s get to 7,500!


*** Please save your pennies and don't donate to this petition! Donations go to change.org, not the campaign ***

*** LATEST UPDATE: Lambeth Council has confirmed the date of the meeting that will vote on whether Hondo's tower should be approved or rejected as Tuesday 3 November at 7pm. Details of the meeting (including the agenda and how to attend online) can be found at https://bit.ly/35pM5uR

Right now, Lambeth Council planning officers are working with Hondo Enterprises (owner of the majority of Brixton Market) to push through and approve Hondo's planning application to build a 20-storey office tower in central Brixton alongside the heritage areas of Brixton Market and the Brixton Recreation Centre, against the advice of Historic England, The Brixton Society, Right of Light Consulting chartered surveyors, local MP (and former town planner) Helen Hayes, and Coldharbour Councillor Scarlett O'Hara. Of the 1,192 public comments left about the proposed development on Lambeth Council's website, 1,173 are objections, seven are neutral and only 12 are in support! See https://bit.ly/3l3IBED

Lambeth planning officers are recommending approving the tower development despite the Brixton community's objections, despite it being in contravention of Lambeth Council's own policy on building height, despite the light impact study not complying with Building Research Establishment (BRE) guidelines, despite the building design not meeting a sufficient BREEAM energy and sustainability rating, despite there being little evidence of demand for luxury office space in the area (especially in a post-Covid world) and despite it only barely scraping by in compliance with a range of other policies. In its planning application, Hondo Enterprises sells itself as having a good rapport with the community, but there is no evidence that they have undertaken any consultation with the Brixton community prior to submitting the application.

The formal body who will decide the fate of the proposal, the Lambeth Planning Applications Committee, met on 25 August 2020 (you can watch the meeting at http://ow.ly/nWTn30r2lgb) with a view to discussing and taking a decision on whether the tower should be allowed to be built. The meeting ran for nearly four hours, and was adjourned with the Chair requesting that the session be resumed within four weeks. This didn't happen. The meeting has now been scheduled ten weeks later instead of four, and Lambeth Council continue to ignore emails requesting an explanation for why the meeting was delayed.

The voices of ordinary Brixtonians deserve to be heard and acknowledged as much as the voices of Texan millionaires. You can help stop the tower by signing and sharing this petition, and emailing and tweeting the councillors listed below (and your local Lambeth councillors) to express your concerns about, and objections to, the Hondo development:

Leader of Lambeth Council Jack Hopkins: 
jhopkins@lambeth.gov.uk | @JackHopkins_Lab
Ben Kind: bkind@lambeth.gov.uk | @benkind
Jessica Leigh: jleigh@lambeth.gov.uk | @Jess_Leigh
Mohammed Seedat: mseedat@lambeth.gov.uk | @moseeds
Joanne Simpson: jsimpson2@lambeth.gov.uk | @CllrJSimpson
Becca Thackray: bthackray@lambeth.gov.uk | @BeccaThacka
Clair Wilcox: cwilcox@lambeth.gov.uk | @ClairWilcox1
Tim Windle: twindle@lambeth.gov.uk | @TimWindle