Avoid budget cuts to the Yonkers Fire Department

Petition Closed

Avoid budget cuts to the Yonkers Fire Department

This petition had 461 supporters
Y F started this petition to City of Yonkers, Mayor Mike Spano & City Council President Chuck Lesnick

As you may or may not be aware of, there is a proposed City budget that will be detrimental to the well being of all Yonkers residents by calling for major cuts to the Yonkers Fire Department. 

At this time, the Mayor of Yonkershas proposed a budget that will dramatically impact you and your loved ones, as well as the YonkersFire Department.  These cuts include eliminating Fire Department response to all medical emergencies, reducing the number of firefighters on a daily basis and closing fire companies and potentially firehouses.  Not only will these cuts have a huge impact on the safety of you and your loved ones, but it will also jeopardize the health and safety of your Yonkersfirefighters. 

If these cuts occur, there will literally be NO RESPONSE by firefighters to any medical calls delaying the immediate care that you or your loved one may need. Critical minutes will pass before a patient receives emergency medical care including CPR and the application of an automated external defibrillator (AED).   Furthermore, there will be an increase in response times to fires and other emergencies, due to less available fire companies and firefighters responding from further away.  

This budget is now before the YonkersCityCouncil.  The City Council will be holding a public budget hearing on Tuesday, May 29 at 7pmin the City Council Chambers at City Hall.  At this hearing, anyone will have the opportunity to speak.  We are asking that you please attend this hearing and speak out against these cuts to our lives, safety and property.  Tell the City “NO” to any cuts to the fire department and request the City to protect your life and those of the YonkersFirefighters.

 

PLEASE  CONTACT THE MAYOR & CITY COUNCIL

SAY NO TO CUTS TO THE YONKERSFIRE DEPARTMENT

 Mayor Mike Spano                          914-377-6300               mike.spano@YonkersNY.gov

Council President Chuck Lesnick     914-377-6060                chuck.lesnick@YonkersNY.gov

Christopher Johnson Dist. 1  914-377-6311        christopher.johnson@YonkersNY.gov

Wilson Terrero Dist. 2                       914-377-6312              wilson.terrero@YonkersNY.gov

Michael Sabatino Dist. 3                   914-377-6313              michael.sabatino@YonkersNY.gov

Dennis Shepherd Dist. 4                    914-377-6314              dennis.shepherd@YonkersNY.gov

Mike Breen Dist. 5                            914-377-6315              mike.breen@YonkersNY.gov

John Larkin Dist. 6                            914-377-6316              john.larkin@YonkersNY.gov 

Petition Closed

This petition had 461 supporters

Share this petition