Opposition of Broward County Medical Examiner’s/BSO Crime Lab in Local Neighborhood

Opposition of Broward County Medical Examiner’s/BSO Crime Lab in Local Neighborhood

0 have signed. Let’s get to 1,000!
At 1,000 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!
Golden Heights, Lake Aire, Dillard Park, Rock Island Homeowners' Association started this petition to Broward County Board of County Commissioners and

This petition is to advise the Broward County Board of County Commissioners the Homeowners’ Associations of Golden Heights, Lake Aire, Dillard Park, and Rock Island hereby oppose to the location proposed site for the Broward County Medical Examiner’s Office and BSO’s Crime Lab Combined Facility (OMETS) which has been approved unanimously by the Broward County Board of Commissioners.

We request that the project be brought back to the Broward County Commissions to discuss with the homeowners and residents to be impacted by the construction of the OMETS facility.

We, the homeowners and residents, believe this project will negatively impact our community. Further, for several decades, our neighborhoods have been impacted by multiple environmental issues which have caused cancer, lead poisoning, birth defects, methane gas exposure and a contaminated lake.

This is the last piece of vacant land in our community and as homeowners and residents, improvements such as more homes, greenspace, or civic/recreational buildings will better enhance our experiences as neighbors. Additionally, the new facility, which is proposed to be constructed at 1625 NW 23rd Ave., is too close to Rock Island Elementary, Dillard Elementary, and Dillard high School. Families will be exposed to the morbid idea of deceased individuals being housed in their neighborhoods and near their schools.

Our community is environmentally fragile, and we are already experiencing high traffic volume due to the commercial businesses/industry located on the eastside of NW 23rd Ave.

We, the Golden Heights, Lake Aire, Dillard Park, and Rock Island community strongly request you rescind the decision/approval of this project to be located as such.

Please support the residents in this petition by leaving your signature and/or contacting Dale Holness' (County Commissioner - District 9) and other County Commissioners' offices directly at the following: 

Phone:

954-357-7009

954 379 8683

Email(s):

Commissioner Dale Holness - dholness@broward.org; info@daleholness.com

Chief of Staff Heidi S. Richards - hrichards@broward.org

Executive Assistant Yashoda Lochan - ylochan@broward.org

Commission Aide Anthony Bonamy - abonamy@broward.org

All other County Commissioners: 

District 1: Commissioner Nan Rich - nrich@broward.org

District 2: Mark D. Bogen - mbogen@broward.org

District 3: Vice Mayor Michael Udine - mudine@broward.org

District 4: Lamar P. Fisher - lfisher@broward.org

District 5: Mayor Steve Geller - sgeller@broward.org

District 6: Beam Furr - bfurr@broward.org

District 7: Tim Ryan - tryan@broward.org

District 8: Dr. Barbara Sharief - bsharief@broward.org

 

 

0 have signed. Let’s get to 1,000!
At 1,000 signatures, this petition is more likely to be featured in recommendations!