2nd CHANCE DUI/DWI
2nd CHANCE DUI/DWI
VOICES OF GEORGIA
I, Joshua Aaron Randle OF 909 Goodson Drive Columbus, (Joshuaaaronrandle@yahoo.com), In the STATE OF GEORGIA. As The promoter of this petition which contains_________signatures.
PETITION IN RELATION TO NON REMOVAL OF A DUI OFFENSE IN THE STATE OF GEORGIA UNDER THE LAW § 40-6-391(a)(2).
To the President and Members of of the Legislative Council of the State of Georgia.
We the VOICES OF GEORGIA known as the people, the residents of the STATE OF GEORGIA are opposed to the § 40-6-391(a)(2) which, within this law refrains individuals charged with a (FIRST TIME) misdemeanor dui, never to be qualified for expungement after a period of rehabilitation.
We the PEOPLE of the STATE OF GEORGIA, are signing this petition with no intent to remove law § 40-6-391(a)(2) but only to revised this law. 2nd chances are earned but with no revising to law § 40-6-391(a)(2) a 2nd chance is a fairy tale. We the people agree by signing this petition that (First Time) dui offenders should have the right to a 2nd chance after rehabilitation a period set by law.
States with rehabilitation periods for dui removal:
Arkansas- Yes, records can be closed and sealed for certain first-time misdemeanor DUIs if probation fully completed. Other restrictions apply.
Delaware- can apply for a misdemeanor pardon only.
Connecticut- Expungement pardon only
Idaho- Yes, “withheld judgment” or “deferred entry of judgment available upon completion of probation
Indiana- Yes, misdemeanor expungement available after five years waiting period, felony after 8-10 year waiting period
Iowa- Possible, only available for drunk in public conviction, first-time DUI or deferred entry of judgment
Kansas- Yes, first-time DUI can be expunged 5 years after the diversion, sentence or probation was completed. Second or subsequent DUI is 10 years
Kentucky- Yes, eligible five years after a misdemeanor conviction
Minnesota- Yes, must follow a waiting period
Several more states allow a first time misdemeanor dui to be removed under certain circumstances by law. There are many more states as well that allow first time dui offenders a 2nd chance why not GEORGIA.