Petition update

Tree Canopy Preservation Amendment to go before Asheville City Council

Karen MacNeil
Asheville, NC, United States

Aug 1, 2020 — 

Dear Friends of Asheville's Urban Forest,

First, we want to thank you for your ongoing support and care for Asheville's urban forest. We are writing today to update you about the Tree Canopy Preservation Amendment scheduled to go before Asheville City Council on August 25, 2020. City staff have heard the public comments, received the signed petitions, read the letters to local newspaper editors, and acknowledged the numerous scientific studies which correlate a healthy urban forest with a healthy community. The Development Services Department and Urban Forestry Commission have worked together diligently to put forth the Tree Canopy Preservation Amendment as tangible evidence that our city is ready to value the economical (utility savings), health (cleaner air, cooler surface temperatures), infrastructure (stormwater management), and ecological (migration pathways) benefits our urban forest provides for us. Please contact Asheville City Council members and the Asheville City Manager to let them know you value the many benefits of our urban forest and passing the Tree Canopy Preservation Amendment will show that they do, too.

Mayor Esther Manheimer: esthermanheimer@avlcouncil.com
Vice Mayor Gwen Wisler: gwenwisler@avlcouncil.com
Brian Haynes: brianhaynes@avlcouncil.com
Vijay Kapoor: vijaykapoor@avlcouncil.com
Julie Mayfield: juliemayfield@avlcouncil.com
Sheneika Smith: sheneikasmith@avlcouncil.com
Keith Young: keithyoung@avlcouncil.com

Asheville City Manager: dcampbell@ashevillenc.gov

Thank you,

The Urban Forest Alliance

*For more information and supporting documents: https://www.ashevillenc.gov/department/communication-public-engagement/projects-and-initiatives/tree-canopy-protection-ordinance-amendments/

 


Keep fighting for people power!

Politicians and rich CEOs shouldn't make all the decisions. Today we ask you to help keep Change.org free and independent. Our job as a public benefit company is to help petitions like this one fight back and get heard. If everyone who saw this chipped in monthly we'd secure Change.org's future today. Help us hold the powerful to account. Can you spare a minute to become a member today?

I'll power Change with $5 monthlyPayment method

Discussion

Please enter a comment.

We were unable to post your comment. Please try again.