We Rise to Legalize

245 supporters

We Rise to Legalize is a diverse coalition of faith, civil rights, workers’ rights, millennial and grassroots advocates calling on New York’s state legislature to pass an equitable and fair adult use program for legalized marijuana.

Started 1 petition

Victory
Petitioning Carl Heastie, Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes, Andrea Stewart-Cousins, John Brooks, Anna Kaplan, Roxanne Persaud, Monica Martinez, Jim Gaughran, Shelley Mayer, Peter Harckham, Todd Kaminsky⁣, Toby Ann St...

Decriminalize + Expand Medical Access so Black/Brown patients can obtain medical marijuana

Dear Advocates.  This is a We Rise to Legalize Call to Action! I’ll get straight to the point. There are 30 Senators in favor or leaning toward legalization. With 63 total Senators, the bill only needs 32 votes to pass. Timing is critical. Tuesday, June 11th, the senate votes. If StartSmartNY Marijuana Bill does NOT have the votes to pass, we need a Plan B to protect Black & Brown communities from unfair arrests and prosecutions + offer safe, affordable medical marijuana in those communities.⁣ Timing is critical. Tuesday, the senate votes. We are asking everyone to SIGN this petition and CALL your NYS Elected Leadership to pass a bill that includes:⁣ *DeCriminalization for simple possession;⁣ - AND⁣ - *Medical Marijuana Expansion to offer licenses for community-based companies to educate and dispense medicine in Communities Impacted by the War on Drugs.⁣ Call your legislators and encourage them to co-sponsor and vote yes today.  Senator John Brooks⁣516-882-0630⁣518-455-2765⁣brooks@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Anna Kaplan⁣(516) 746-5924⁣(518) 455-2170⁣kaplan@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Roxanne Persaud⁣718-649-7653⁣518-455-2788⁣persaud@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Monica Martinez⁣(631) 360-3356⁣(518) 455-2950⁣martinez@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Jim Gaughran⁣(516) 922-1811⁣(518) 455-3250⁣gaughran@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Shelley Mayer⁣518-455-2031⁣914-934-5250⁣smayer@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Peter Harckham⁣(914) 241 4600⁣(518) 455-2340⁣harckham@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Todd Kaminsky⁣518-455-3401⁣516-766-8383⁣kaminsky@nysenate.gov⁣⁣Senator Toby Ann Stavisky⁣(518) 455-3461⁣(718) 445-0004⁣stavisky@nysenate.gov⁣

We Rise to Legalize
245 supporters